Alice impressed me with her great musicality, a fine sense of style and a high musical culture."  Eckart Runge founding member of the Artemis Quartet

Fresh

Alice Van Leuven est une jeune violoniste principalement active en Belgique, Allemagne et en France en tant que soliste et chambriste. En 2021, Alice a fait partie de la sélection des jeunes vingtenaires « De Twintigers » de la radio flamande Klara.

 

Le Quatuor Alfama a récemment engagé Alice en tant que nouvelle première violoniste. Le quatuor est établi sur la scène belge et internationale depuis 2005. Outre cette nouvelle fonction, Alice est membre fondateur du Trio Aries qui a remporté la dernière édition du concours Supernova Classics. Le Trio Aries s’est produit entre autres à Bozar lors du dernier Klara Festival et au concert de printemps du Palais Royal de Bruxelles en mars 2021. Leur premier album enregistré au Singel d’Anvers sortira en novembre 2021.

 

Frederik Neyrinck lui a dédié sa pièce « Echo de Cleves » pour violon solo qu'elle a créée dans la salle Henry Leboeuf à Bozar (Bruxelles) en juin 2020 lors de "Klara on Tour". En tant que soliste, elle a travaillé avec l'orchestre Sinfonietta et l'Orchestre de Chambre de la Néthen. Alice est lauréate de plusieurs concours comme le concours Belfius Classics où elle a remporté un premier prix en violon et en musique de chambre. Elle est finaliste du concours Young Belgian Talent, édition 2015.

 

Alice est diplômée de la Universität der Künste de Berlin où elle a étudié dans la classe de violon de Mark Gothoni et dans la classe de musique de chambre du Quatuor Artemis. Auparavant, elle a étudié au « Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel » dans la classe de Philippe Graffin. Alice doit sa passion pour la musique et son envie d'en faire son métier aux professeurs Alain Meulemans et Erik Sluys qui l'ont accompagnée depuis ses premiers pas au violon jusqu'au conservatoire. Alice s'est également formée auprès de nombreux professeurs de renom aux quatre coins de L'Europe lors de nombreux festivals et masterclasses: Les Rencontres Musicales Internationales d’Enghien avec Philippe Graffin, Priya Mitchell, David Waterman et Miriam Fried, IMS Prussia Cove (Angleterre) avec Andras Keller, Bartok Seminar à Szombathely (Hongrie) avec Barnabas Kelemen, Savonlinna Music Academy (Finlande) avec Mark Gothoni et le Festival Resonances avec Antje Weithaas.

 

Alice a tourné avec plusieurs ensembles et orchestres belges et allemands: Hofkapelle Weimar (dir. Peter Hoerr) tournée en Amérique du Sud en 2018, Kammeracademie Potsdam, Le Concert Olympique (dir. Jan Caeyers) ; concerts à la Philarmonie de Berlin et l'Elbphilarmonie d'Hambourg et l’Orchester im Treppenhaus à Hanovre. Elle a été invitée en 2019 à participer au Pacific Music Festival fondé par Leonard Bernstein qui se déroule tous les ans au Japon et qui est actuellement sous la direction artistique de Valery Gergiev.

 

Depuis septembre 2021, Alice donne cours de violon au Kunsthumaniora Brussel.

DSC_0333.jpg

Alice impressed me with her great musicality, a fine sense of style and a high musical culture."  Eckart Runge founding member of the Artemis Quartet

Fresh

Alice Van Leuven is a young violinist mostly active in Belgium, France and Germany as a soloist and a chamber musician. In 2021, she was selected as one of the “Twintigers” (Twentysomethings) from radio Klara.

 

The Alfama Quartet recently appointed Alice as their new first violinist. The quartet is active since 2005 and critically acclaimed in Belgium and abroad. Alice is also a founding member of Trio Aries that won the chamber music competition Supernova Classics in February 2020. The trio recently performed at the Klara Festival in Bozar and had the honor to play on the last Spring Concert of the Royal Palace of Brussels. Their debut album recorded in the Singel (Antwerp) will be released in November 2021.

 

Frederik Neyrinck dedicated his piece "Echo de Cleves" for solo violin to Alice, which she premiered in the Henry Leboeuf hall in Bozar (Brussels) in June 2020 during "Klara on Tour". As a soloist, Alice performed a few times with Sinfonietta and l'Orchestre de Chambre de la Néthen. Alice is laureate of different competitions in Belgium like Belfius Classics where she received a first prize both in the violin category as in the chamber music category. She was finalist of the Young Belgian Talent competition, edition 2015.

 

Alice graduated from the Universität der Künste in Berlin where she studied in the violin class of Mark Gothoni and in the chamber music class of the Artemis Quartet. Before that she studied at the Koninklijk Conservatorium Brussel with Philippe Graffin. She feels particularly grateful to the teachers Alain Meulemans and Erik Sluys who accompanied her from her first steps with the violin to the conservatory. Alice got also the chance to work with many renowned teachers during masterclasses and festivals across Europe: Les Rencontres Musicales Internationales d’Enghien with Philippe Graffin, Priya Mitchell, David Waterman and Miriam Fried, IMS Prussia Cove (England) with Andras Keller, Bartok Seminar in Szombathely (Hungary) with Barnabas Kelemen, Savonlinna Music Academy (Finland) with Mark Gothoni and the Festival Resonances with Antje Weithaas.

 

Alice went on tour with different Belgian and German chamber orchestras or ensembles like Hofkapelle Weimar (dir. Peter Hoerr) on tour in South America in 2018, Kammeracademie Potsdam, Le Concert Olympique with concerts in the Philharmonie in Berlin and the Elbphilarmonie in Hamburg and the Orchester im Treppenhaus in Hannover. She was invited in 2019 for the Pacific Music Festival that was founded by Leonard Bernstein and that takes place every year in Japan with artistic director Valery Gergiev.

 

Since september 2021, Alice is teaching the violin at the Kunsthumaniora Brussel.

DSC_0333.jpg